Toddler Tuesday: Morning Challenge

Lately, it has been quite the struggle to get Norah out the door in the mornings.

tumblr_nt8qla6SbK1rlpicfo1_250

I have tried a few tricks already, like rhyming off the morning routine when she wakes up so there are no surprises for her, however she still pushes back when asked to put her shoes and coat on.

909892fe0e8216951ec5f249ecfa70c2

One desperate morning, I happen to come across an article posted on facebook by one of my friends:

The One Thing Parents Can Do to Make Mornings Smoother

The point of this article (I hope you take some time to read it!) is to emotionally connect with your child before trying to reason with them-starting with when they wake up!  I think this is a great practice, that can be used throughout the years!

Although the article made it sound easy, I had high doubts of this working for my strong-willed toddler.  Regardless, each morning for the past week, as I heard Norah wake up, I went into her room, climbed into her crib (looking forward to her having a bed!) and lay down with her.  I gave her hugs, rubbed her back, or we chatted about all of her stuffed animals in the room.

8348604648a6e52aa624d5dd09b2d95c

Those 5-8 minutes spent lying in bed with her has honestly saved 20 minutes of struggle when heading out the door!  She did not argue with me about getting her shoes on (except on the type of shoes she wanted to wear- but I choose my battles…) or getting into the vehicle.

It is a good reminder to take a step back from the rush of life to love those around us, to slow down and connect.  I highly recommend you try this challenge and let me know how it works for you! (This could work with spouses too!)

Now to tackle a more complicated (and equally as frustrating) topic- Bedtime!  But that is for another blog…

Until next time..T. xx

 

toddlercoffee

Leave a Reply

