Trip to NFLD, 2016

Awhile back, Josh and I were watching this show, “Canada: Over the Edge” , where a helicopter circles a specific area of Canada, and the landscape and history is told.  One episode, ‘Newfoundland: East Coast’ came on, and it brought all my memories back of my visit to Newfoundland.  


Last April almost to this day, I went to visit one of my dear friends in Witless Bay, NFLD.   Kelly, her husband, and their dog had packed up their life and moved there the October before and it had been really hard not having her around.   I had been through a few life altering changes (prenatal depression, new baby) and I decided to take a trip on my own before I was done my mat leave.  I was feeling extremely anxious to return to work (it was still two months away) so something big needed to be done;  A mental health trip- a momcation (there is honestly such a thing, look it up!)


On top of being united with one of my closest friends, and seeing the glorious sites of Newfoundland, I also took a big leap by leaving my 10 month old daughter at home for 7 days.  It was not easy, but was such an important thing to do for my independence and for Norah’s!  She also had some great bonding time with her dad and grandmother! 

I had a lot of fun on that trip- it was one I will remember for the rest of my life!  We toured the Avalon, visited many lighthouses, went to Signol Hill, learnt how to make a jiggs’ dinner and fish stew (both DELICIOUS), and I even got screeched in (I am now an honorary Newfie)!   It would take a thousand blogs to describe this trip, and another thousand to include the pictures I took.

  I will say this- if there is such a place to go to for serenity and reflection (and a great time with great people!)  it is the east coast of Newfoundland! 


until next time.. T. xx

 

Leave a Reply

