Toddler Tuesday: The Flu

You know, I think there is always a time when one feels unappreciated or not needed.   By your husband, wife, friend, sibling, child, coworker, boss…..

As a new parent, I have come to a realization- there is one time that I will always be appreciated/needed: when my daughter is sick.

She has had a few bad colds and viruses in the past two years, but this past week she got the flu for the first time.  My 21-month old chatterbox woke up one night and could not stop throwing up.  I felt so bad for her- she didn’t know what was happening as she cried in between getting sick.


I suffer from anxiety, and with that I also struggle from OCD, so unfortunately, when someone is sick, I become an extreme germaphobe.  It honestly is a horrible feeling that has increased now that I am a mom- moms can’t get sick! It is one of my hugest battles within my mind and one of the hardest to work through.  I feel crazy as I obsessively wipe every handle, lightswitch, cup, my daughter’s hands, etc. 


That night however, every fear/worry/anxiety went away and I went into mom mode.  Poor Norah did not understand why she was puking and let’s just say she is definitely not at the age to know how to aim into a bowl/bucket.  She would turn towards me for a hug,, clutching to me as she projectile vomited everywhere.  We both went through quite a few pairs of pjs that night!

I’ll never forget her little voice. “Mommy, my tummy hurts.. it hurts…” and I responded while stroking her hair and holding her close, “It’ll be okay sweetie. You are going to be okay”, to which she says quietly, “thank you mommy”, in a relieved tone.

heart melt

That moment right there erased all anxiety, OCD, unappreciation, everything!  I could live in that moment forever and will cherish it always.

il_340x270.663390864_8w0s

So, we survived her first flu and she’s now back to her spitfire self- she bounced back very quickly!  If only adults were as resiliant as toddlers….. guess who caught the flu next? my husband. (hello man flu..)

 

I just hope I don’t catch this…lol

898f1a5a8d3eb2bd5d289024c9e92486

Until next time..T. xx

toddlercoffee

Leave a Reply

