Toddler Tuesday: Temper Tantrums

Well, I don’t know about you other toddler parents, but right now we are in the (to say it lightly) ‘mood swing’ phase.  Also known as the full out Dr. Jekyll/Mr Hyde tantrums.

tantrum

For those that do not experience these “mood swings”– JEALOUS.  And also, here is an example of how they work:

It is 6am and I am patiently waiting as Norah makes her 10th attempt at putting on her jacket by herself.  It took 15 minutes to convince her it was time to get her boots on, and we are so close to heading out the door.  She is chatting away, proud of putting the boots on, and I decide to step in (time is not a parent’s friend).  The moment I kindly assist with the one sleeve, Norah runs away, cost dragging behind her, as she screams “No Mommy!!! I do it!!” and stomps her feet.  When I finally get the coat on and have distracted her with the task of giving the dogs their treats before we leave – she is all smiles and excited to get in the vehicle…. 
whoa

How can she be so extremely happy one minute, and so ridiculously mad the next, and then back to happy again?  These tantrums often leave me feeling exhausted and defeated (I find I say this a lot, am I the only mom who feels this way at times?)

Now I know this is just the age of tantrums-  they are learning how to control their impulses and feelings while trying to call the shots and test what they can get away with.   But it’s like they are these mini dictators on PMS!

dont-know-what-to-do-gif

I am not going to write a whole post on ‘ways to tackle tantrums’.  Josh and I have come up with a couple of methods that work for us and her tantrums have significantly decreased (and she is actually learning to communicate pretty well). Every child is different and it’s about finding what works for them.  The true comfort is that we are not alone- most toddlers go through this!

momsunite

Honestly though, some of these tantrums are for the most ridiculous reasons and sometimes we have to laugh to survive these days.

Just in this past week, here are the reasons why Norah has had a little(or big-the range varies) tantrum:

-because there were no more blueberries at breakfast

-because I was singing the wrong Wiggles song

-because I threw out her dirty diaper when she had wanted to do it herself

-because we had to leave daycare

-because she couldn’t get her coat on by herself

-because I wouldn’t let her brush her teeth for 6 hrs

-because I wouldn’t let her wear her spring jacket (it was -30 out..)

-because her dolly kept falling off her toy lawn mower while she was pushing them around

-because she wanted Josh to help her with her yogurt,  but I helped instead

-because Josh read the wrong “in the night garden” book

-because she wanted the magnet holding up her crayon drawing but didnt want the drawing to fall 

-because she didnt want to say hi to her cousin Jacob

just to name a few….

 

 

P.S.-Is anyone else scared for puberty?

Until next time..T. xx

toddlercoffee

3 thoughts on “Toddler Tuesday: Temper Tantrums

  1. Buahaha! That brought back somany memories of us with clara! The ‘i do it’ and were still dealing with the getting her to wear the appropriate clothes for the weather. Almost every day i drop off at school and then sit down, emotionally drained from the morning routine. And stare blankly. Teenage/puberty scares the livin crap out of me! Xoxo

    Like

  2. This brought back a lot of memories. Just wait until they are older and have a stronger vocabulary. Most mornings I feel drained and while driving to work I think, could I have done something different, should I have controlled my temper more? For example; When you ask the same thing over and over again with a calm voice and it doesn’t work, and then you raise your voice and your kids look at you like you’re a crazy monster with two heads, as they whisper, maman is crazy! Oh the joys of parenting. It is the hardest job and I just pray one day I will look at them and think, I did good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

