Toddler Tuesday: Potty Training

I had a lot of fun writing the Toddler 101 post, so I have decided to dedicate one day a week to the wonderful world of toddlerhood!

Observations, pictures, questions, quotes… it will be as random as a toddler’s mood!

This week’s segment of Toddler Tuesday gears around potty training, as that has become the newest focus for Norah.  Not actually peeing on the toilet, but climbing it, flushing it, and the classic “pull all the toilet paper off the roll” (in which I bunch it all back up and use until it is all gone because toilet paper is not cheap!)

As first time parents, we are going into this potty training business pretty blind.  Every time Norah says “I wanna pee on the toilet”, I just stare at her, admiring her vocabulary, and then realize, oh yeah-she is looking for guidance!  She may not be developmentally ready yet (excluding the talking), but we want to have a game plan for when it is time!(she is still learning to pull her pants up and down…I figure that is an important step…)

help

The last time I trained someone to pee, it was my dog 9 years ago… and I’m pretty sure the methods are different…… lol

So what is the best way to potty train? potty seat or floor potty? which type of pull ups? how often does my child have to run around naked? what time is the best time to train? how many wine bottles do I need? (I hear this requires a lot of patience…….)

pottytraining

I don’t normally read books and guidelines on parenting-I like to learn from the moms around me- real life experiences.(nothing is sugar coated that way…)  I ask my mom, Josh’s mom, my daycare provider (sisters,family, friends) their advice often on all of my parenting dilemmas.  I find the raw truths and experienced tricks extremely helpful!

So, what is the #1 tip for potty training?

Until next time..T. xx

toddlercoffee

 

 

2 thoughts on “Toddler Tuesday: Potty Training

  1. Once you start just keep going! We did both potty and the seat. I used “pull ups” they have an easy tear way side easy for messy clean ups. If you have no carpet put some underwear on her and let her go if she starts peeing run her to the potty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

