Brussel Sprouts Dish (with Chicken)

As I was prepping chicken nachos last night (trying to use up left over rotisserie chicken), I was trying to think of how to make this a bit healthier, a bit more green.

veggies

I put the usual chicken, salsa, cheese on nacho chips in the oven (for my husband) and then decided to make something up for myself!

I am on a brussel sprouts kick right now, so I knew I wanted to incorporate those!  Brussel sprouts are very low in calories and high in nutrients.   They are high in protein, and meet your vitamin C and K for the day with one serving.  They are known for lowering the risks of cancer, managing diabetes, reducing wrinkles, and improving skin texture!(just to name a few)images

So here is a meal I came up with (as I am trying to expand my brussel sprout dishes):

Ingredients:

1/2 bag of frozen brussel sprouts

1 chicken breast, shredded

1/2-1 cup of garlic vinaigrette

1/4 cup of grated cheese

2 tablespoons of salsa

I took some brussel sprouts (frozen, which actually holds nutrients better than ‘fresh’ from grocery store) and chicken and fried them up in a pan on medium heat with some garlic vinaigrette.

garlic-expressions

This Garlic Expressions brand is my all time favourite! I use it for everything..

Once the chicken and brussel sprouts were soft and browned, I added a bit of salsa and continued to fry, now on low heat.  I added grated cheddar cheese (next time I will try parmesan to switch it up) and let it melt, before pouring onto my plate!  Yum!

img_2810

The picture does not do the meal justice.  It was easy, fast, and tasted delicious!

Next time, I will try cutting the sprouts in half, to soak up more flavour.(I was in a hurry last night)

I think I MAY even be able to convince my husband to try it!

It is always fun experimenting in the kitchen!! xx

Leave a Reply

