New Year’s Resolutions

  
How many people are still making resolutions at the beginning of each year? I know there is the usual “eat better, drink less, workout more” resolution that everyone starts Jan 1st, and usually ends before the end of the month.   

 
Do people actually write down their resolutions and check back a year later?  

 
New Years Resolutions began many many years ago. Some religions made promises to their gods to return borrowed objects and pay off debts. In the Medieval Era, knights would make a vow to re-affirm their commitment to chivalry.  

 

Did you know that about 88% of people each year fail their new years resolutions?

 Only 8% of the 45% who always make new years resolutions actually achieve their goals! This is due to reasons such as creating unattainable goals or forgetting about the resolutions throughout the year (I am guilty of both!) 38% absolutely never make resolutions each year!  

 The concept of new year’s resolutions is to reflect upon self improvement annually.  This old tradition is a chance to get back on track in life- mentally, physically and spiritually. But why reflect annually? I think the best way to improve oneself is to make daily, weekly and monthly attainable goals rather than giant yearly goals.    
  
Any life coach will tell you that life is about constantly learning and growing. In order to do so, we must set goals for ourselves. Ones we can measure; ones that will turn resolutions into habits.  

 
Examples of resolutions:

meditate daily

eat healthier food

work out more

pay off debt

drink less

donate to more charities

volunteer more

take a trip

be more involved with your family

stop bad habits (ie smoking, biting nails)

The list varies depending on you and what you feel would contribute to bettering yourself!   

 
I have set just a couple of resolutions that are easy for me to track and I hope to keep up with it all year! 


Here are my resolutions: 

pray daily

work out 3 times a week

floss daily

80% clean eating 

declutter one room per month

more ME time– read, play piano, blog, meditate  

Creating goals with different time measures allows me to check in on myself daily! Im not sure what my success rate will be at the end of the year, but if I work on these resolutions, I have set myself up for some healthy habits for each day!

Did you make any resolutions this year?  

 Good luck and God bless! xx

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I haven’t made resolutions the last few years… This year is different since I’ve gone through a big life change and redefining myself! I have lots of goals and things I want to achieve this year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

